Ibn Rushd Fund for Freedom of Thought

Mitglieder der Jury 2007

Initiates file downloadPDF Version

Samir Farid

Samir Farid wurde 1943 in Kairo/Ägypten geboren. Er studierte Theaterwissenschaft an der Akademie der Künste in Kairo und graduierte 1965 mit einer Abschlussarbeit über Samuel Beckett (“The Meaning of Silence in Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett”).

Seit 1964 ist Samir Farid Filmkritiker bei der ägyptischen Tageszeitung “al-Gomhuria”. Von 1969 bis zur Einstellung der Zeitschrift im Jahre 1970 war er im Redaktionsteam der ägyptischen Zeitschrift “al-Cinema” tätig; 1973 war er Redakteur der Zeitschrift “al-Taliaa”, 1977 Chefredakteur der ägyptischen Wochenzeitschrift “al-Cinema wa-l-Funun”, die nach 35 Ausgaben aus politischen Gründen eingestellt wurde; 1979 Redakteur bei der algerischen Zeitschrift “al-Schaschatan” und 1987 Redakteur bei der zypriotischen Zeitschrift “al-Ufuq”.

Samir Farid war Mitgründer des Nationalen Festivals für Kurz- und Dokumentarfilme im Jahre 1970, Mitgründer des Nationalen Festivals für Spielfilme im Jahre 1970, Mitgründer der arabischen Filmkritikerunion und des ägyptischen Filmkritiker-Verbandes (1972). Er ist Mitglied des internationalen Juroren-Verbandes seit 1972. Er ist Mitgied der “Federation International de la Press Cincematographicque” (FIPRESCI) seit 1971; Mitglied der International Initiating Committee of the General History of Cinema 1982; Vertreter der “Variety” in Kairo zwischen 1981- 1985; Beiratsmitglied des Kultusministerium 1989; Leiter des Bereichs Cinema der Bibliotheca Alexandrina 2001.

Samir Farid wurde 2000 mit der Goldenen Medaille von Cannes und 2002 mit dem Staatspreis für die Künste ausgezeichnet. 2005 wurde er während des Filmfestivals für sein Werk geehrt.

Seit 1967 wurde er zu mehr als 170 Festivals, Tagungen und Seminare in Afrika, Asien, Europa und den USA eingeladen. Er war Jurymitglied bei zahlreichen Filmwettbewerben.

Bashar Ibrahim

Bashar Ibrahim wurde 1962 im Dorf Daliyy bei Damaskus/Syrien geboren. Die Familie des palästinensischen Schriftstellers und Filmkritikers stammt aus dem palästinensischen Dorf “al-Khalsa” (Kiryat Shmona). Seit 2000 ist er Leiter des Verlages Dar al-Tariq. 2006 war er Redakteur der Zeitschrift al-Warda, von 1999-2000 Chefredakteuer der Zeitschrift al-Ibda’ al-arabi. Er ist Mitglied des arabischen Schriftstelleverbundes in Syrien und des Palästinensischen Schriftsteller- und Journalistenverbundes (dessen Schatzmeister er 2002 war), außerdem Mitglied der Versammlung der palästinensischen Schriftsteller und der palästinensischen Filmgruppe.

Mitarbeit an den Dokumentarfilmen „Die arabischen Christen“ und „Dualismen“ in Zusammenarbeit mit der jordanischen Filmproduktionsfirma Taif 2007. Programmgestaltung zweier Filme der Dokumentationsserie „al-Mubdi’un“ (Künstlerporträits) für al-Jazeera TV Channel 2006. Planung und Organisation der ersten Vorführung „unabhängiger Filmproduktionen“ der Zeitschrift Warda in Damaskus 2006; Teilnahme an zahlreichen kulturellen Kultursendungen und Talkshows.

Mitarbeit am Projekt „Entdecke die islamische Kunst!“ in Zusammenarbeit mit der Organisation „Museum ohne Grenzen“ in Belgien im Jahr 2007 und am Buchprojekt “Die Palästinafrage im Film“ mit dem Filmemacher Qais az-Zubaidi 2006 sowie an zahlreichen anderen Projekten mit Dr. Gum’a Qadja (1999-2007). Mitarbeit am Dokumentar- und Kurzfilmfestival in Ismailiyya 2004-2006 und am Dokumentarfilmfestival in Beirut 2005.

Jurymitglied beim Kurzfilmwettbewerb in Damaskus 2007.

Bashar Ibrahim erhielt 2001 den Imam-Khomeini-Preis für seine Studien und 1996 den Rabi’at al-Ruqayy-Preis für seine Gedichte, 1995 wurde er in Syrien mit dem Preis für Kurzgeschichte des Schriftstellerverbands ausgezeichnet.

Publikationen: „Mawwal al-Jamr“ (Gedichte), Damaskus 2000, „Saif ad-Dukhan“ (Kurzgeschichten); Damaskus 1995. Studien: Die Filmwerke von Dureid [Lahham] und Nihad [Qal'i], Damaskus 2007; Die private Filmproduktion in Syrien, Damaskus 2006; Das Flüchtlingslager im palästinensischen Roman, Damaskus 2006; Palästina im arabischen Film, Damaskus 2005; Die Vielfalt des syrischen Films, Damaskus 2003. Nasser und der Film, Damaskus 2001; Der palästinensische Film im 20. Jahrhundert, Damaskus 2001; Ein Blick auf den palästinensischen Roman des 20. Jahrhunderts, Damaskus 2000; Ein Blick auf den palästinensischen Film des 20. Jahrhunderts, Damaskus 2000; Wind der Zeit,... die kulturelle Globalisierung, Damaskus 2000; Das mittelöstliche Herrschaftssystem, Damaskus 2000; „Meinungen und Stellungnahmen zum syrischen Film“, Damaskus 1997.

Einige Kapitel seines Buches „Der palästinensische Film im 20. Jahrhundert“ wurden an der Columbia University unter der Leitung von Prof. Hamid Dabbashi ins Englische übersetzt.

Nadim Jarjoura

Nadim Jarjoura wurde 1965 in Beirut geboren. Seit 1985 ist er als Journalist in der libanesischen Tageszeitung „al-Safir“ tätig und seit Anfang 1994 Fachautor für den Bereich Filmkritik. Im Feuilleton-Teil schreibt er seit 1997 eine wöchentliche Kolumne in der gleichen Zeitung.

Nadim Jarjoura hat viele Artikel und Kritiken zu kulturellen Themen veröffentlicht. Insbesondere widmete er sich dem Thema Film, wobei er sowohl über Filme aus der arabischen Welt als auch aus Europa und den USA schrieb. Zu nennen wären die kuwaitische Zeitschriften „al-Arabi“ und „al-Kuwait“ sowie die emiratische Wochenzeitschrift „Zahrat al-Khalij“.

Publikationen:

  • „Frage an das Ich“ – Ein kleines Buch über den ägyptischen Regisseur Yusri Nassrallah, Beirut 2001.
  • „Die unvollkommen Chronik“ – Studie über die Geschichte des libanesischen Films, erschienen in einer Reihe zum Film, herausgegeben vom emiratischen Filmfestival 2004 in Abu Dhabi.
  • „Die durchlöcherte Front. Persönliche Reise zu den arabischen Filmfestivals“, erschienen in der gleichen Reihe 2006.

Khemais Khayati

Khemais Khayati wurde 1946 in al-Qusur (im Verwaltungsbezirk Kaf) in Tunesien geboren. Er studierte Geschichte (Ahnenwissenschaft) an der Universität Paris X und erwarb die Licence im Jahr 1972, worauf er sein Studium in arabische Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Paris III fortsetzte und sich abermals an der Universität Paris X 1973 als Dozent für Sozialwissenschaft qualifizierte. Schließlich promovierte er in Islamwissenschaft und Arabistik an der Universität Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle 1983 über das Thema «Der Film und die Gesellschaft Ägyptens in den Filmen von Salab Abu Saif».

Zwischen 2002 und 2005 war er Programmleiter und Moderator des Wochenprogramms «Die siebte aller Künste» (heute « Filmstunde») in Kanal 7 des tunesischen Fernsehens, ebenso des 10-minütigen Programms «Filme der Woche», 2001 Programmleiter und Moderator des 36 minütigen Programms «Geschichten des Films» in Kanal 7 und von 2000-2001 des Dokumentarfilms «Kinowoche» über Filmproduktionen in Tunesien. 2000 leitete er das Programm «Zuschauerwünsche» auf Kanal 7. Derzeit schreibt Khayati auch eine Wochen-Kolumne in der Tageszeitung La Presse.

Khayati war 1999 Chefredakteur der Fernseh-Wochenzeitschrift «Sieben geteilt durch Sieben» und hat zahlreiche Essays für die in London erscheinenden Tageszeitung al-Hayat sowie eine Kolumne in der französischen Tageszeitung «Le Temps» geschrieben. 1998 war er zuständig für den kulturellen Teil der Zeitschrift Réalités. 1997-1998 war er Korrespondent für die Zeitschrift «al-Quds al-Arabi», 1996 stellvertretender Direktor der Medienabteilung des Institut du Mond Arabe in Paris, nachdem er dort zwischen 1992-1995 bereits Leiter des Pressebüros war. Zwischen 1975 und 1996 war er Kommentator des (täglich gesendeten) Programms «Panorama» bei Radio «France Culture». Von 1983 bis 1991 war Khayati Journalist in der Pariser Wochenzeitschrift «Der siebte Tag» und von 1988 bis 1990 Journalist bei RFI, im Arabischem Programm des staatlichen französischen Rundfunks. 1987 bis 1992 war er Journalist, Drehbuchautor und Fernsehredakteur bei FR3. 1978 gründete Khayati die Zeitschrift «CinemArabe» (12 Ausgaben), deren Chefredakteur er wurde. 1967-1969 war er Lektor und Journalist bei der tunesischen Zeitung «L’Action».

Khayati war Jury bei der Auswahl der im Filmfestival in Cannes gezeigten Filme zwischen 1983-1985 und Vizepräsident der CICT (Conseil. International du Cinéma et de la Télévision) bei der UNESO von 1981 bis 1988. Von 1973 bis 1981 war er Dozent an der Universität Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle.

Khayati erhielt im Jahr 2000 den Preis für den besten Feuilletonartikel von der tunesischen Journalisten-Gesellschaft.

Publikationen:

  • Palästina und der Film, Paris 1976
  • Filmkritik, Kairo 1983
  • Der ägyptische Film, Montreal 1986
  • Salah Abu Saif, ein ägyptischer Regisseur, Paris 1990
  • Salah Abu Saif, Kairo 1995
  • Die Problematik filmischer Darstellung im palästinensichen Film, Kairo 1995
  • Der arabische Film, Paris 1996
  • Stars, die ihr euch zum Vorbild nehmen könnt, Tunis 1998
  • Auf der Suche nach dem Bild (Kino und Fernsehen), Tunis 2001
  • Aus meiner Heimat, Paris 2005
  • Kaugummi für die Augen (zum Fernsehen), Tunis 2005
  • Trauer um ein Kamel, eine Philosophische Geschichte für Erwachsene (wird in Kürze erscheinen).

Magda Wassef

Magda Wassef (Filmkritikerin, Leiterin der Biennale des Institut du Monde Arabe) studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaft an der Universität von Kairo mit Schwerpunkt Betriebswirtschaft (Bakalaureat 1968). In 1976 schloss sie ihr Studium des Films an der Universität Sorbonne in Paris mit einem Diplom ab. Ihr Diplôme d'Etudes Approfondies (D.E.A.) erwarb sie am École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) - Paris (1978); Magda Wassef promovierte an derselbigen Hochschule (EHESS) zum Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) über „Das Bild der Frau vom Lande im ägyptischen Film“ bei Prof. Marc Ferro.

Seit 1988 Leiterin der Abteilung Film des Institut du Monde Arabe in Paris. Sie leitet das vom Institut du Monde Arabe organisierte Filmfestival (Biennale des Institut du Monde Arabe) von seiner Gründung im Jahre 1992 bis heute.

Von 1978 bis 1988 Filmkritikerin und leitende Fachredakteurin für Film bei der Zeitschrift al-Mustaqbal in Paris. Zwischen 1985 und 1995 Lehrbeauftragte an der Universität Sorbonne/Paris, Schwerpunkt arabischer Film. Teilnahme an zahlreichen Rundfunk- und Fernsehprogrammen als Sachkundige im Bereich französischen und arabischen Film. Sachverständige Fachreferentin bei mehreren Filmproduktionen des französischen Fernsehens über die arabische Welt. Beraterin und Mitorganisatorin zahlreicher arabischer und internationaler Filmfestivals, u.a. das internationale Filmfestival in Kairo. Seit 2004 sachverständige Beraterin beim Filmfestival in Cannes. UNESCO-Vertreterin auf internationalen Konferenzen, Durchführung mehrerer Fachstudien im Auftrag der UNESCO. Mitglied mehrerer Ausschüsse im Centre national de la cinématographie zur Förderung der Produktion und dem Vertrieb von Filmen.

Magda Wassef ist Autorin mehrerer Studien über den arabischen Film. 1984 übersetzte sie das Theaterstück „Imra’a fi sign al-Qanatir“ (Eine Frau im Gefängnis von Qanatir) und im Jahr 2002 „Erinnerungen aus dem Frauengefängnis" von Nawal Saadawi ins Französische. Herausgeberin des Buches „Egypte, 100 ans de cinema“ (100 Jahre ägyptisches Kino), das 1995 vom Institut du Monde Arabe herausgegeben wurde und 1996 als bestes Film-Sachbuch des Jahres preisgekrönt wurde. Herausgeberin der 1995 erschienenen Biographie „Schadi Abd as-Salam, Pharao des ägyptischen Films“.

Wassef wurde 1992 mit dem Chevalier des Arts et Lettres und 2002 mit dem Officier des Arts et des Lettres ausgezeichnet.

Ibn Rushd Fund for Freedom of Thought

Members of the Jury 2007

Initiates file downloadPDF version

Samir Farid

Samir Farid was born in 1943 in Cairo, Egypt. He studied drama criticism at the Academy of Arts, High Institute of Dramatic Arts in Cairo and graduated 1965 with a study on “The Meaning of Silence in Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett”.

Samir Farid is engaged as film critic at “al-Gomhuria” daily in Cairo since 1964. He was editor for the Egyptian magazine “al-Cinema” from 1969 till it was stopped 1970 and editor for “al-Taliaa” in 1973, editor-in-chef of the Egyptian weekly “al-Cinema wa-l-funun” in 1977, editor for the Algerian magazine “al-Shashatan” in 1979 and editor for the Cypriot magazine “al-Ufuq” 1987.

Samir Farid was Co-Founder of the National Festival of Short and Documentary Films in 1970, the National Festival of Feature Films 1971, the Arab Film Critics Union and the Egyptian Film Critics Association in 1972. He is member of International Juries since 1972. He is member of “Federation International de la Press Cinematographicque” (FIPRESCI) since 1971; member of the International Initiating Committee of the General History of Cinema in 1982; representative of “Variety” in Cairo 1981- 1985; member of the Consultative Board of the Minister of Culture in 1989; Cinema Supervisor at Bibliotheca Alexandrina, 2001.

Samir Farid is winner of the Golden Medallion of Cannes in 2000 and of the State Prize in Arts 2002. In 2005 at the film festival in Egypt he was honoured for his work.

Since 1967 Samir Farid was invited to more than 170 festivals and seminars in Africa, Asia, Europe and the USA. He was member of the jury of many film competitions.

Bashar Ibrahim

Bashar Ibrahim, author and film critic, was born in 1962 in Daliyy, a village near Damascus/Syria. His family originally came from the Palestinian Village “al-Khalsa” (Kiryat Shmona) in Israel. Since 2000 he is director of the publishing house Dar al-Tariq. In 2006 he was editor of the magazine al-Warda. From 1999 to 2000 he was Editor-in-Chief of the magazine al-Ibda’ al-arabi. He is member of the Arab Author’s Union in Syria and the Palestinian Author’s and Journalist’s Union (whose treasurer he was in 2002). He also is member of the Assembly of Palestinian Authors and of the Palestinian Film Group.

He worked on the two documentary films „The Arab Christs“ and „Dualism“ together with the Jordanian film production company Taif in 2007. He planned the programme of two documentary films of the series al-Mubdi’un („The Creatives“ - portraits of artists) for al-Jazeera TV Channel in 2006. He planned the first show of independent film productions organized by the magazine Warda in Damascus in 2006 and attended many TV talkshows.

Bashar Ibrahim participated in the project „Discover Islamic art!“ in cooperation with the organization „Museum without frontiers“ in Belgium in the year 2007 and in a book project on „The Palestinian issue in the film“ together with the filmmaker Qais az-Zubaidi 2006 and in several other projects with Dr. Gum’a Qadja (1999-2007). Assistance at the Documentary and Short Film Festival in Ismailiyya from 2004 to 2006 and at the Documentary Film Festival in Beirut in 2005.

Member of the jury at the Short Film Competition in Damascus in 2007.

In 2001 Bashar Ibrahim was awarded the Imam-Khomeini-Prize for his studies and in 1996 the Rabi’at al-Ruqayy-Prize for his poems. In 1995 in Syria he won the Prize of the Author’s Union for Short Stories.

Publications: „Mawwal al-Jamr“ (Poems), Damascus 2000, „Saif ad-Dukhan“ (Short Stories); Damascus 1995. Studies: The Film Works of Dureid [Lahham] und Nihad [Qal'i], Damascus 2007; Private Film Production in Syria, Damascus 2006; Refugee Camps in the Palestinian Novel, Damascus 2006; Palestine in the Arab Film, Damascus 2005; The Variety of Syrian Film Works, Damascus 2003. Nasser and the Film, Damascus 2001; The Palestinian Film in the 20th Century, Damascus 2001; A Glance at the Palestinian Novel of the 20th Century, Damascus 2000; A Glance at the Palestinian Film of the 20th Century, Damascus 2000; Wind of time,... Cultural Globalization, Damascus 2000; The Middle Eastern System of Rule, Damascus 2000; „Opinions and Statements about the Syrian Film“, Damascus 1997.

Some chapters of his book „The Palestinian Film in the 20th Century“ were translated into English at Columbia University under the supervision of Prof. Hamid Dabbashi.

Nadim Jarjoura

Nadim Jarjoura was born in Beirut in 1965.

He is working as journalist since 1985 in the Lebanese daily newspaper “as-Safeer”, where he established himself as film critic (since 1994) as well as feature columnist since 1997.

He has published articles and critical essays mainly on cultural issues. He especially dedicated himself to films (Arabic films as well as films from Europe and the USA) and has publications in various Arabic newspapers and magazines, the most prominent of which are the Kuwaiti magazines “al-Arabi” and “al-Kuwait” and the weekly Emirate magazine “Zahrat al-Khalig”.

Books published:

“Questioning one’s own self”, a little book on the Egyptian film director Yusri Nassrallah, Beirut 2001.
“The unfinished chronicle, research into the history of Lebanese films”, published as part of a series on films at the Film Festival in Abu Dhabi in 2004.
“The pierced front, a personal journey to Arab festivals”, published as part of the same series on films in 2006.

Khemais Khayati

Khemais Khayati was born in 1946 in al-Qusur (in the district of Kaf) in Tunis. He studied history (genealogy) at the University of Paris X and degreed with a licence in 1972. He then continued his studies in Arabic Literature at the University of Paris III and in 1973 qualified himself as university teacher of sociology at the University of Paris X. Eventually he did his PhD in Islamic Studies and Arabic Literature at the University of Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle in 1983 on «The Cinema and the Egyptian Society in the Films of Salab Abu Saif».

Between 2002 and 2005 Khayati was planner and presenter of the weekly TV programme «The seventh of all kinds of arts» (today «Film hour») in Channel 7 of the Tunisian television, also of the 10-minutes long programme «Films of the Week». 2001 he was planner and presenter of the 36-minutes long programme «Film stories» in Channel 7 and from 2000-2001 of the documentary film «Week of the cinema» about film productions in Tunisia. 2000 he planned the programme «Favourite films of the audience» on Channel 7. Today Khayati is also comunist for the daily newspaper «La Presse».

1999 Khayati was Editor-in-Chief of the weekly TV-magazine «Seven divided by Seven» and has written many essays for the daily newspaper al-Hayat (which is published in London) as well a a column in the French daily «Le Temps». 1998 he was responsible for the feature pages of the newspaper Réalités. From 1997 to 1998 he was correspondent for the newspaper «al-Quds al-Arabi», 1996 he was assistant director of the Media Department at Institut du Mond Arabe in Paris, after he already was director of the news agency there between 1992-1995. From 1975 to 1996 Khayati was commentator of the daily programme «Panorama» at Radio «France Culture» and from 1983 to 1991 he was journalist at the weekly magazine «The seventh day» in Paris. Between 1988 and 1990 he was journalist at the Arabic programme of the stateowned French broadcasting company RFI. From 1987 to 1992 he was journalist, scriptwriter and editor at FR3. In 1978 Khayati founded the magazine «CinemArabe » (12 issues), of which he became Editor-in-Chief. From 1967 to 1969 he was corrector and journalist at the Tunisian magazine «L’Action».

Khayati was member of the Jury for the preselection of films for the Filmfestival in Cannes between 1983-1985 and Vice President of CICT (Conseil. International du Cinéma et de la Télévision) at the UNESO from 1981 to 1988. Before that he was lecturer at the University of Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle in the time between 1973 and 1981.

In 2000 Khayati was awarded the prize of best feuilletonist by the Tunisian Journalist Society.

Publications:

Palestine and the Cinema, Paris 1976
Film Criticism, Cairo 1983
The Egyptian Film, Montreal 1986
Salah Abu Saif, an Egyptian Film Director, Paris 1990
Salah Abu Saif, Cairo 1995
The Problems of form of presentation with films in the Palestinian Cinema, Kairo 1995
The Arabic Film, Paris 1996
Stars, whom you can take as an example, Tunis 1998
On search of the movie (Cinema and TV), Tunis 2001
From my Homeland, Paris 2005
Chewing Gum for the Eyes (about Television), Tunis 2005
Mourning of a Camel, a philosophical story for adults (will be published soon).
Co-Publications with other authors:

The Cultural Heritage of the Palestinians, Paris 1979
The Movie in the Arab World, Paris 1996
In Defence of Salman Rushdie, Paris 1996

Magda Wassef

Magda Wassef (filmcritic, General Representative of the Biennial of Arabic Cinema in Paris) studied economy and graduated in business management at the University of Cairo with a baccalaureate in 1968. She continued her studies and graduated in 1976 with a bachelor’s degree in Cinema at the University of Sorbonne in Paris. In 1978 she obtained her Diplôme d'Etudes Approfondies (D.E.A.) at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) in Paris. She received her PhD in Cinema at same university EHSS (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales) in Paris in the year 1983, with a thesis entitled “The Image of Rural Women in Egyptian Cinema” under the supervision of Prof. Marc Ferro.

Magda Wassef is Head of the Film Department at the Institut du Monde Arabe in Paris since 1988 and General Representative of the Biennial of Arabic Cinema in Paris (which is sponsored by the Institut du Monde Arabe) from its beginning in 1992 till this day.

From 1978 to 1988 she worked as film critic and was chief editor for publications on “cinema” in the Magazine “Future”. From 1985 till 1991 she gave lectures on Arabic films at the University of Sorbonne in Paris. As film specialist she has taken part in numerous television and radio talk shows on films in France and the Arab world. She was consultant during the organizer of many Arabic and international film festivals, including the International Film Festival in Cairo. As expert in Arabic films she is consultant at the International Film Festival in Cannes since 2004. She represented the UNESCO in numerous international conferences on films and prepared studies for the UNESCO on the subject. She is member of many committees at the Centre national de la cinématographie, which has set itself the task of supporting the production and distribution of films.

Magda Wassef has published a lot of studies on Arabic films. In 1984 she translated the theatre play «A Woman Imprisoned in al-Qanatir“ by Nawal al-Saadawi and in 2002 her memoires „My Memories of the Women's Prison“ into French. She is editor of the book „Egypte, 100 ans de cinema“ (100 Years of Egyptian Cinema), which was published by the Institut du Monde Arabe in 1995 and won the prix du livre Art et Essai (prize for best non-fiction book on Film) in the year 1996. She is also editor of a biography on „Shadi Abd al-Salam; Pharao of the Egyptian Cinema“ published in 1995.

Magda Wassef was decorated Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres in 1992 and Officier des Arts et des Lettres in 2002.