Ibn Rushd Fund for Freedom of Thought

Mitglieder der Jury 2006


Ahmad Faez al-Fawwaz

Ahmad Faez al-Fawwaz wurde 1934 in Riqqa geboren. Nach seinem Studium der Medizin an der syrischen Universität in Damaskus (1952–1957) promovierte er an der Humboldt Universität und spezialisierte sich 1967 als Facharzt für innere Medizin an der Charité in Berlin. Danach arbeitete er als Mediziner in Riqqa und war politisch aktiv. Wegen seiner Aktivität in der kommunistischen Partei Syriens wurde er jahrelang (1980–1995) inhaftiert. Nach seiner Freilassung arbeitete er wieder als Arzt bis er 2001 in den Ruhestand ging. Zur Zeit ist al-Fawwaz politisch unabhängig und Leiter der syrischen Menschenrechtsorganisation.

Angelika Neuwirth

Angelika Neuwirth wurde am 04. November 1943 in Nienburg/Weser geboren. Nach einem Studienjahr an der Universität Teheran studierte sie Semitistik, Arabistik und Klassische Philologie an der Universität Göttingen (1964-67). Das Magisterstudium setzte sie an der Hebrew University in Jerusalem fort (1967-1970). Es folgen ihre Promotion in Arabistik an der Universität Göttingen (1972) und ihre Habilitation in Arabistik und Islamwissenschaft an der Universität München (1977). Nach einer Gastprofessur an der University of Jordan am Lehrstuhl für Arabische Philosophie (1977-1981) hatte sie in Amman die Leitung einer Sektion an der Royal Academy for Islamic Civilization (181-1983). Es folgten eine Lehrstuhlvertretung an der Universität Bochum (1983-1984), eine Fiebinger–Professur an der Universität Bamberg (1985–91), eine Kurzzeitprofessur an der Universität Ain-Shams in Kairo (1989/1990), Lehrstuhl für Arabistik an der Freien Universität Berlin (seit 1991). Prof. A. Neuwirth war in den Jahren 1994–99 Direktorin des Orient Instituts der Deutschen Morgenländischen Gesellschaft Beirut und Istanbul. 1997-1999 war sie Leiterin zweier EU-Projekte (MEDA Demokratie) in Beirut und Istanbul. Seit 2003 leitet sie (zusammen mit Almut Bruckstein) das Projekt “Jüdische und Islamischen Hermeneutik als Kulturkritik” am Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin. Sie ist Beirat für das Projekt "Weltreligionen" (Suhrkamp-Verlag) im Orient-Institut, Hamburg, Mitglied des Auswahlkommitees des DAAD und Vertrauensdozentin der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes. 1996 wurde sie mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz für Verdienste um kulturelle Zusammenarbeit Deutschland-Libanon ausgezeichnet.

Ausgewählte Publikationen:

  • Abdallatif al-Baghdadis Bearbeitung des Buches Lambda der aristotelischen Metaphysik. Wiesbaden 1972
  • Studien zur Komposition der mekkanischen Suren. Berlin 1981
  • Kulturelle Selbstbehauptung der Palästinenser. Survey der modernen Palästinensischen Dichtung. (zus. mit Birgit Embalo & Friederike Pannewick). Beiruter Texte und Studien 71. Beirut/Würzburg 2001.

 

Asma Khader

Asma Khader studierte Rechtswissenschaften in Damaskus. Seit 1981 ist sie als Rechtsanwältin tätig. 1991 gründete Khader die al-Ata’a Women’s Cooperative, deren Präsidentin sie bis 2000 war. Von 1992 bis 1996 war sie Präsidentin der jordanischen Frauen-Union und 1996/97 Direktorin der palästinensischen Meschenrechtsorganisation al-Haqq in Ramallah (Westbank). 1997 gründete sie die Frauenrechtsorganisation International Sisterhood (SIGI) in Jordanien und 1998 die Menschenrechtsorganisation „Mizan - Law Group for Human Rights“, ein Netzwerk von Anwälten und Menschrechtsaktivisten, das sie seit der Gründung leitet. Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit ist die Ausbildung von Frauen und die Anleitung von Rechtsanwälten bei Verstößen gegen die Menschenrechte. Asma Khader war Delegationsmitglied der National Fact Finding Mission in Jordanien. 1990 wurde sie mit dem Human Rights Watch für die Verteidigung der Menschenrechte in Jordanien ausgezeichnet sowie 1991 mit dem Jordanian Independence Medal of the First Degree für ihre Rolle bei der Verfassung des jordanischen Grundgesetztes.

Von ihr sind zahlreiche Publikationen zu Rechts- und Menschenrechtsfragen erschienen wie „Das Gesetz und die Zukunft der palästinensischen Frau“ und als Co-Autorin „Die jordanische Frau und ihr politisches Engagement“ sowie „Die jordanische Frau und das Wahlrecht“ (alle in arabischer Sprache erschienen).

Qassim Haddad

Qassim Haddad wurde 1948 in Bahrain geboren. 1969 gründete er mit anderen Intellektuellen die „Familie der Dichter und Schriftsteller in Bahrain“ und 1970 das Awal-Theater. Heute ist er Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift „Kalimat“ (Worte) und Vorsitzender des bahrainischen Schriftstellerverbands.

Qassim Haddad ist Verfasser von 15 Gedichtsbänden und einer der bekanntesten Dichter seines Landes. Einige seiner Gedichte, unter anderem „Qalb al-hubb“ und „ad-Dam“ wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Er hat außerdem ein Sachbuch über das Theater in Bahrain verfasst.

1996 gründete er die Internetseite „Jehat al-Shi’r“ (Richtung der Lyrik - www.jehat.com).

Ibn Rushd Fund for Freedom of Thought

Members of the jury 2006

Ahmad Faez al-Fawwaz

Ahmad Faez al-Fawwaz was born in Riqqa in 1934. After studying medicine in the Syrian University in Damascus (1952-1957) he did his PhD and his specialisation in internal medicine in Berlin at Humboldt University and at the Charitè Hospital in 1967. Since then he had been working as a physician in Riqqa in Syria and is actively engaged in politics. Between 1980 and 1995 he was imprisoned due to his activities in the Syrian Communist Party.

After his release he worked as a physician till 2001. Dr. Ahmad al-Fawwaz, who is politically independent, is currently the head of the Syrian human rights organisation.

Angelika Neuwirth

Angelika Neuwirth was born in 1943 in Nienburg/Weser. After spending an academic year at the University of Teheran she began studying Jewish Studies, Arabic Literature and Classical Philology at the University of Göttingen (1964-67). She continued her studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem (1967-1970), followed by her PhD in Arabic Literature at the University of Göttingen (1972) and her postdoctoral lecturing qualification in Arabic Literature and Islamic Studies at the University of Munich (1977). She was visiting professor at the University of Jordan teaching Arabic Philosophy (1977-1981) and was director of a department at the Royal Academy for Islamic Civilization (1981-1983). This was followed by a deputy chair at the University of Bochum (1983-1984), a Fiebinger–university chair at the University of Bamberg (1985–91), a short-time chair at the University of Ain-Shams in Cairo (1989/1990), a chair for Arabic Literature at Free University in Berlin (since 1991). In the years 1994–99 Prof. A. Neuwirth was Director of the Orient Institute of German Oriental Society in Beirut and Istanbul. Between 1997-1999 she supervised two EU-Projects (MEDA Democraty) in Beirut und Istanbul. Since 2003 she and Almut Bruckstein run the poject “Jewish and Islamic Hermeneutics as Cultural Criticism” at the Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin. She is advisory board in the project "World Religions" (Suhrkamp-Verlag) for the Orient-Institut in Hamburg, she is member of the jury of the German Exchange Service DAAD as well as confidential professor of Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes. In 1996 she was awarded the Bundesverdienstkreuz for her outstanding services in cultural cooperations between Germany and Lebanon.

Publications:

  • Abdallatif al-Baghdadis Bearbeitung des Buches Lambda der aristotelischen Metaphysik. Wiesbaden 1972
  • Studien zur Komposition der mekkanischen Suren. Berlin 1981
  • Kulturelle Selbstbehauptung der Palästinenser. Survey der modernen Palästinensischen Dichtung. (co-authors Birgit Embalo & Friederike Pannewick). Beiruter Texte und Studien 71. Beirut/Würzburg 2001.

 

Asma Khader

Asma Khader, lawyer and human rights activist, is former President of the Jordanian Women's Union from 1992 to 1996 and founder and co-ordinator 1997 of the international women rights organization SIGI-Sisterhood in Jordan. She established a legal assistance program for Jordanian women and is a founder and member of several women's human rights NGOs. Elected to the Permanent Arab Court as Counsel on violence against women in 1995, she is well known for her campaigns to strengthen legislation outlawing honour killing. Ms. Khader is also a member of the Executive Committee of the International Commission of Jurists and in 1998 she founded the human rights organization „Mizan - Law Group for Human Rights“, a network of lawyers and human rights activists, which she co-ordinates until today. She has received numerous awards and honours for her work including the Human Rights Watch 1990 and the Jordanian Independence Medal of the First Degree for her role in formulating the Jordanian National Charter (1991).

She published many articles and books on right and human rights issues like „Law and the future of Palestinian women“ and as co-authoress „The Jordanian woman and her political engagement“ and „The Jordanian woman and the right to vote“ (all published in Arabic language).

Qassim Haddad

Qassim Haddad was born in 1948 in Bahrain. He is co-founder of the “Family of the Poets and Authors of Bahrain” in 1969. In 1996 he founded the web site „Jehat al Shi’r“ (direction of poetry www.jehat.com). Qassim Haddad is the editor-in-chief for the journal “Kalimat” (words) and President of the Writers’ Union of Bahrain.

He is author of 15 collections of poems and one of the best known poets in his country. Some of his works like „Qalb al-hubb“ und „ad-Dam“ have been translated into different languages. He has also written a book on theatre in Bahrain.