Ibn Rushd Fund for Freedom of Thought

Ibn Rushd Lecture am 26 April 2017: Dr. Housamedden Darwish - Arabisches politisches Denken, die syrische Revolution und Fragen des Asyls.

Ibn Rushd Lecture am 26. April um 20 Uhr, in der Lettrétage.

Der syrische Philosoph Housamedden Darwish trug vor

Arabisches politisches Denken, die syrische Revolution und Fragen des Asyls

In seinem Buch Kritische Texte zum arabischen politischen Denken, der syrischen Revolution und dem Asyl (bislang nur in arabischer Sprache erschienen) setzt sich Housammedden Darwish kritisch mit den vorherrschenden Ideen zu den Themen Nationalismus, Demokratie, der syrischen Revolution und der Frage des Asyls auseinander.

Zunächst geht es um das Verhältnis zwischen Nationalismus und Demokratie: wie hängen die beiden zusammen, bedingen sie einander gar?

Und wie hängen diese Fragen mit der syrischen Revolution zusammen, was war ihr Hintergrund, ihre frühe Entwicklung und ihre Perspektiven? Was waren die politischen und sozio-ökonomischen Faktoren, die sie hervorriefen, und welche Rolle spielte Bashar Al-Assad bei ihrer Entwicklung?

Schließlich wird es um die weitreichenden Folgen der politischen Entwicklung in Syrien gehen, insbesondere in bezug auf die Situation in Deutschland. Hier beleuchtet Darwish die rassistischen und unmoralischen Einstellungen von Flüchtlingen zueinander, nimmt aber auch die Motive der deutschen Empfangsgesellschaft unter die Lupe, bei der er teils eine von der Pflicht, teils eine von der Furcht, aber auch eine von Sympathie und Liebe geleitete Ethik diagnostiziert.

Diese Ibn Rushd Lecture wurde in arabischer Sprache vorgetragen, ein ins Englische übersetzter Text steht weiter unten zur Verfügung. liegt aus. 

Übersetzung des Vortrags

Um den Vortrag auf Englisch zu lesen, klicken Sie bitte auf das folgende Symbol. Um den Vortrag auf Arabisch zu lesen, wechseln Sie bitte die Sprache (oben rechts auf AR klicken) :

Dr. Housamedden Darwish

Houssamedden Darwish
Houssamedden Darwish

Dr. Housamedden Darwish studierte Philosophie und spezialisierte sich auf Hermeneutik und Methodologie der Sozial- und Humanwissenschaften. Er arbeitete an der Universität von Tischreen und promovierte 2010 an der Universität Bordeaux III. Derzeit ist er Gastwissenschaftler am Orientalischen Seminar der Universität Köln.

Bilder vom Abend:

Ibn Rushd Fund for Freedom of Thought

Ibn Rushd Lecture on April 26: Arab Political Thought, the Syrian Revolution & the Question of Asylum with Dr. H. Darwish

Ibn Rushd Lecture on Wednesday, 26th April, at 8:00pm in the Lettrétage Berlin.

The Syrian philosopher Hosamedden Darwish spoke on

Critical Ideas in Arab Political Thought, the Syrian Revolution and the Question of Asylum.

In his recently published book Critical texts in Arab Political Thought, the Syrian Revolution and Asylum: In the Example of Bishara and Barout (available in Arabic only) Darwish critically discusses some of the most prevailing ideas about the issue of nationalism, democracy, Syrian revolution and asylum.

Taking a closer look at the relationship between nationalism and democracy, he asks if nationalism (in Arab countries) represents a necessary condition or a prerequisite for achieving democracy.

Darwish also discusses the Syrian Revolution´s background, its early evolution and its subsequent prospects. What are the political and socio-economic factors that led to it in the first place? Which role did Bashar al-Assad play in the revolution?

Lastly some light is shed on the consequences of the political development in Syria, especially considering its impact on Germany. Darwish directs his critique towards "racist" and "immoral attitude” of refugees towards each other, but also tries to analyse the attitudes within the German receptive society, where he diagnoses an "ethics of Duty", an " ethics of fear“ but also the "ethics of sympathy and love".

The lecture was held in Arabic.

The Lecture as a document for reading

The lecture has been translated to English but is also available in the Arabic original for further reading. Please click on the icons below to get the lecture in English. Switch language (top of page) to go to the Arabic page for the Arabic version of the Text.

Dr. Housamedden Darwish

Housamedden Darwish
Housamedden Darwish

Dr. Housamedden Darwish studied philosophy and specialized in hermeneutics and methodology of social and human sciences. He worked at the University of Tishreen and got his doctoral degree from the University of Bordeaux III in 2010. He is currently a visiting lecturer at the University of Cologne.

Pictures from the event:

Housamedden Darwish1
Housamedden Darwish2
Housamedden Darwish3
Housamedden Darwish4